The Mill House 2017-02-06T16:50:12+00:00

mill-house

The Mill House

The first grist mill in Setauket was constructed in 1665 at the south end of the pond. It was moved north as the pond silted in. Over the years, it became abandoned and dilapidated. In 1936, Mr. and Mrs. Everett Hawkins turned over title of the mill and the miller’s cottage to the Melville family. Richard Haviland Smythe was commissioned to build a simulated mill with a working water wheel to represent the long line of mills that had existed on our pond. Today the mill wheel is operational and the building now serves as the park headquarters.

 

Save

Save

Save

millers-cottage

The Miller’s Cottage

The Miller’s Cottage, the oldest structure in the park, is still used as a residence today. It enjoys a breathtaking view of the estuary leading into Conscience Bay.

 

Save

Save

Save